Every time I click on the highlighted number on the right side of the page this site opens.
Is it deliberate or is it a virus? Has someone hacked the site and added it? Or, do I have malware on my own PC?
http://millionsoulsaware.org/#new
By aztec on Jun 5, 2008, 05:21 in Friendly Talkzone.
|
sloopskipper says on Jun 5, 2008, 05:31: If I click on the number I am getting:
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
gato-bandido says on Jun 5, 2008, 05:40: Yes, the malware is called Internet Explorer.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
|
aztec says on Jun 5, 2008, 05:52: "gato-bandido says on Jun 5, 2008, 05:40: flag
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
sloopskipper says on Jun 5, 2008, 06:17: I also noticed that if I click on my comments, anything in "off topic" displays "no such post", even though is still there (IE6 and Firefox).
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
gato-bandido says on Jun 5, 2008, 06:21: With Firefox the AdBlockPlus extension is practically a must have, a life saver the way Internet is today. With IE you are out of luck. AdAware is what I use for clean up.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
webmanco says on Jun 5, 2008, 06:43: On the number on the right side it is just dead links, not virus at all. ...A yo, déjenme queto y no me jodan má! ... 0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
aztec says on Jun 5, 2008, 07:05: I continue to get the site http://millionsoulsaware.org/#new with photo's when I use Opera and "Address Not Found, Firefox can't find the server at post".
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
bamacellist says on Jun 5, 2008, 07:08: I'm being sent to this URL for most of them in Opera: "The future is much like the present, only longer." 0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
bamacellist says on Jun 5, 2008, 07:24: Clicking on one of the links to "new" posts tries to send to a URL that looks like this: "The future is much like the present, only longer." 0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
|
ColombianoGringo says on Jun 5, 2008, 08:53: gato, AdBlockPlus is great. I've been recommending it to these hooligans for a while now. You should also download the NoScript plug in. While AdBlock will block images, Flash and other media, NoScript will keep any kinds of scripts from running on your browser without your explicit permission.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
aztec says on Jun 5, 2008, 09:23: I have NoScript and AdBlock and that is why Firefox gives me "server not found". It is only on Opera that I get this url. I refuse to even try it with IE!
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
bamacellist says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:40: Could it be simply that the script(s) that provide the path and create the url got disturbed - perhaps in the process of creating the new "all forums" page - and the external link some us are reaching is an anomaly of how Opera is handling it (odd request handling associated with METHOD)? "The future is much like the present, only longer." 0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
ColombianoGringo says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:44: That is the most likely scenario. He probably just messed up the href.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
Peter (Moderator) says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:48: It's fixed. Wasn't a virus, just a bad link :) Poor but snappy 0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
gato-bandido says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:49: It is also possible that your network somehow resolves the name "post" to some address that either is that .org thing or redirects you to it. Just a crazy idea. Try running
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
webmanco says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:51: This was a very healthy way of handling things, without bein paranoid or incriminating anyone. PBH rules! ...A yo, déjenme queto y no me jodan má! ... 0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
gato-bandido says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:52: As for FF extensions, I also find these useful: CustomizeGoogle, FlashBlock, and FlashGot.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
ColombianoGringo says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:53: Those getting that MillionSouls business should look into an issue with their browser. I tried using both Firefox2 and IE7 with the script blockers turned off and did not see that. Try looking up that domain on Google. Surely you are not the first to see this.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
|
ColombianoGringo says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:55: Sorry. I was getting an odd response when posting comments.
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
|
ColombianoGringo says on Jun 5, 2008, 11:58: Peter,
0 funny, 0 helpful. |
More posts by the same author:
Farc 'co-ordinator' held in Spain 3
chaitug 2
INTELLECTUALS LIE, THE POWERLESS DIE 38
Freed hostage calls Colombian rebels 1
Fidel Castro in Farc hostage plea 3
Ex-hostage Betancourt: Tone down 'hate' speech 12
FARC's 'Human Rights' Friends 14
TWO VIEWS: We need to stand by our staunch allies like Colombia 9
Colombia: Pinned down in their jungle lairs, wounded Farc face long war's end 1
Ã?lvaro Uribe, Colombia's Peacemaker 6
...Democrats on 'destructive path' in trade 11
Ortega’s presidency on shaky ground after Farc comments 3
Seven people were killed in five incidents in less than nine hours late Friday and early yesterday!! 7
Legal Services Directory.PDF 5
Americas: |
Africa: |
Asia:
|
Travel: Also: |
If you're not a part of this travelicious experiment just yet, just sign up here. It's free & easy.
About poorbuthappy | About the travel guides | Travel guide editing | Community rules | RSS feeds
© 1998 - 2008 Peter Van Dijck, all rights reserved.